ERETZ Book Subscribe Jerusalem Issue Gift Subscription Sample Issue Customer Service


Terms of Use


Acre - Museum of the Underground Prisoners
This museum is located in the courtyard of the Acre prison and presents the history of ancient Acre and the story of the imprisonment, trial, and life in jail of Ze’ev Jabotinsky and his comrades in British Mandate Palestine. You can see the prisoners’ cells and the gallows room. Also in the museum: photographs, documents, and other items that tell the story of the prisoners who were hanged, the famous jailbreak, and the clandestine immigration of Jews to Palestine.
Part of the Museums Unit of the Ministry of Defense.

Address: Company for the Development of Old Acre, 1 Weizmann, Acre.  Tel. 1-700-70-80-20

Beit Keshet – Security Building
Kibbutz Beit Keshet, which was founded in 1944, is the first of the Palmach settlements in the Land of Israel. Its founders were graduates of the Kadouri agricultural school and had been members of the Mahanot Olim movement. In its early days, the kibbutz was approximately 1 kilometer east of its present site. The security building is the last remnant of the old site. Members of the kibbutz and its defenders bastioned themselves in the building during Israel’s War of Independence. It has been renovated and a short film about the history of the kibbutz is shown there, as is an exhibit of photographs and documents.

Address: Kibbutz Beit Keshet. Tel. (04) 662-9019

The Jewish settlement in the village of Biriya is a symbol of the stubbornness and perseverance that were part of the enterprise of resettling the Land of Israel. On January 8, 1945, one of three Galilee fortresses arose in Biriya (the others were Hukok and Ramot Naftali). Biriya was settled by the religious brigade of the Palmach. The British imprisoned the settlers and tried to close the fortress, but Jewish settlement persisted. Two thousand Jews from all political streams came to Biriya and remained there until the British gave in. The Biriya Fortress is located in the Biriya Forest, next to Safed. The fortress has been restored and opened to the public as a museum, which presents the story of the site.

Address: Biriya Fortress, Safed Tel. (04) 692-2433

Deganya Alef - Beit Gordon
Beit Gordon, named for Hebrew writer and Zionist philosopher A.D. Gordon, houses a nature museum featuring a huge collection of taxidermic specimens of many species of birds, reptiles, amphibians, and fish of the Sea of Galilee and Jordan River areas, and shells of the Sea of Galilee region and the Jordan Valley. The museum also has an exhibit of rocks of the Land of Israel, a collection of fossils, and a herbarium with a large collection of wild plants. The Ya’acov Palmoni Collection, named for a member of Deganya Alef who was a founder of the museum, includes more than 5,000 insects, most of them from the Sea of Galilee valley. The library on the premises contains over 55,000 books, dealing mainly with nature in the Land of Israel and neighboring countries.

Address: Kibbutz Deganya Alef  Tel. (04) 675-0040

Deganya Alef -
The Museum in the Founders’ Courtyard

This museum is located in the first dining room of the kibbutz and it presents the story of Deganya, from the organizing of a commune in Hadera to the establishment of the permanent settlement. The museum perpetuates the memory of the founders of Deganya, who were the first settlement group to realize the idea of a communal settlement in the Land of Israel.
Their work is documented in photographs, letters, maps, models, and other items.  A lecture and film hall and a hall for study days are located on the site.

Address: Kibbutz Deganiya Alef  Tel. 052-374-9102

Ein Gev - House of Anchors Fishing Museum
The House of Anchors Fishing Museum was established in 1995 at Kibbutz Ein Gev on the Sea of Galilee by Mendel Nun, a veteran fisherman, historian, author, and resident of Ein Gev. Nun has organized an assemblage of concepts, examples of technology, and hitherto little-known artifacts relating to the fishing industry on the Sea of Galilee from antiquity to the present.
The museum collection includes such items as models of nets, net-sinkers and anchors, netting needles, and rare pictures of newly discovered ancient harbors. Relevant biblical and talmudic texts, as well as background information on the Sea of Galilee and its fish population, are also provided. Outside the museum, visitors can view a model of a first-century wooden boat. There are also demonstrations of fishermen lowering their nets, using ancient or modern techniques, visiting nearby ancient harbors, and trying their luck at throwing a cast-net or using a netting needle. In addition, visitors can take a train tour around the kibbutz.

Address: Kibbutz Ein Gev Tel. (04) 665-8008, 054-565-8025

Ein Harod - Beit Sturman
One of the first museums in Israel, Beit Sturman (named for Haim Sturman, who was a leading member of the kibbutz) presents various aspects of life in the Jezreel Valley: history, archaeology, settlements from ancient times until today, defense of the area in the time of modern Jewish settlement, water sources in the Jezreel Valley, ethnography, and flora and fauna. The museum has one of the most extensive exhibits of animals and fossils in Israel. The archaeological collection includes such items as 75 milestones from the Roman period, and the defense collection features rare weapons. One hall in the museum is devoted to the memory of Haim Sturman and his family, and features a video about the area. Temporary exhibitions are presented at the museum. In addition, there is an archive, and a library containing 8,000 volumes.

Address:  Beit Sturman, Kibbutz Ein Harod Meuhad
Tel. (04) 648-6328 

Ein Harod - Museum of Art
The Museum of Art at Ein Harod was established in the 1930s in a wooden hut and the construction of the present building was begun in 1948. Designed by Samuel Bickels, the museum has become known as one of the first Modernist museum buildings in which use was made of natural lighting, and in recent times there has been increased international awareness of its distinctiveness. Founded by the members of Kibbutz Ein Harod in the belief that culture and art are among the basic formative constituents of a society, it is a rare instance of a museum that was built even before other essential physical needs of the society were met.
The museum has a collection of some 16,000 art works amassed since the early 1930s, and includes Jewish artifacts dating from the seventeenth century onward, as well as paintings and sculptures by (mainly Jewish) artists from the nineteenth century on. It presents retrospective solo and thematic group exhibitions, and also serves as a meeting point for groups from diverse social strata and ethnic backgrounds.

Address: Kibbutz Ein Harod Tel. (04) 648-6038, (04) 648-5701

Gan Hashlosha - Tower and Stockade Site
This site is located in the heart of Gan Hashlosha (Sachne) National Park. It is an exact reconstruction of the courtyard of Tel Amal, the first of the tower and stockade settlements, which were set up overnight in the pre-State period to forestall Arab attack and British opposition. The site also tells the story of those who established tower and stockade settlements in the Land of Israel in general and in the Beit She’an Valley in particular. Visitors can see the settlers’ lifestyle in the residential huts, the dining room, the kitchen, the laundry, the double wooden wall, and the courtyard. In addition, they can construct a wall, launder in the water of the riverbed, wear pioneer clothes, and be photographed for a souvenir. The tower affords a view of the Beit She’an Valley. The site is surrounded by the natural pools and expansive lawns of Sachne.

Address: Gan Hashlosha (Sachne) National Park Tel. (04) 658-1017

Ginosar, Yigal Allon Center –
Man in the Galilee Museum

This museum introduces the visitor to the Galilee as a region with a unique landscape and history. The aim of the museum is to arouse curiosity, awareness, and independent thought on ideological issues with which Israeli society is coping. It offers an audiovisual presentation about the landscape of the Galilee and the connection between man and the landscape; an ancient wall map; three-dimensional pictures and stories from the Arab villages in the Galilee; a corner featuring the songs of the Land of Israel; memorials to Israeli statesman and military commander Yigal Allon: computerized Galilee database; and a library that includes recordings of interviews with 1948 fighters, settlers, and more. There are also changing exhibitions of works of art of people of the Jordan Valley.
A special attraction is a 2,000-year-old boat that was discovered in the Sea of Galilee and restored in an unusual operation (“the Jesus Boat”).

Address: Kibbutz Ginosar Tel. (04) 672-7700

Givat Haim Ichud - Beit Theresienstadt
Beit Theresienstadt, located at Kibbutz Givat Haim Ichud, was erected in memory of the Jews of the Theresienstadt ghetto in what was then Czechoslovakia, who perished during the Nazi persecution. The Theresienstadt Martyrs Remembrance Association built this edifice through the initiative of the surviving members of Theresienstadt’s Zionist youth movement and the Hechalutz organization living in Israel. The cornerstone was laid in 1969 and the official opening was in 1975.
The museum presents exhibitions of works by artists who were in Theresienstadt. In addition, the staff provides guidance for Holocaust studies and research regarding the fate of Jews from Czechoslovakia, Germany, Holland, Denmark, and other countries from which prisoners were brought to the Theresienstadt ghetto. Beit Theresienstadt maintains archives and collections of documents, testimonies, and artifacts concerning the Theresienstadt ghetto. Information on the fate of the nearly 150,000 prisoners of the Theresienstadt ghetto is stored in Beit Theresienstadt’s computerized database and available on request for a small charge.

Address: Beit Theresienstadt, Kibbutz Givat Haim Ichud
Tel. (04) 636-9515

Hanita - Tower and Stockade Museum
When Hanita was settled, a partially destroyed stone building was found on the site. One of its rooms had served as the living quarters of the guard and his family. The building was renovated and since 1960 it has served as a museum.
The archaeological section’s items include glass, pottery, and ceramic vessels. There is also an exhibition of coins from the ancient mint of Tyre and stone implements from prehistoric times. The Tower and Stockade section features an exhibit chronicling events that occurred at the site from 1936 to Israel’s War of Independence, with the aid of photographs, models of the area, weapons and tools, press clippings, and an archive.
An audiovisual presentation depicts the establishment of Hanita and electronic maps show the settlements established from 1936 to 1939 and the events of Israel’s War of Independence in the Western Galilee.

Address: Tower and Stockade Site, Kibbutz Hanita
Tel. (04) 985-9677

Hukok - The Fortress
The fortress of Hukok was established in 1945 by recruits to the Palmach as a strategic settlement point in the heart of an area settled with Arab villages. The fortress has a commanding view of the northeastern part of the Sea of Galilee. During Israel’s War of Independence, Hukok served as a barrier between the Arab forces in the central Galilee and the road linking Tiberias with Upper Galilee. After the war, the kibbutz developed beyond the wall of the fortress. For many years, Kibbutz Hukok was nearly the only Jewish community in the area. Hands-on educational activity for schoolchildren and adults, tours in the area, and evening activities, take place at the site.

Address: Kibbutz Hukok Tel. 054-579-8846

Ilaniya (Sejera) - Ben-Gurion Educational Center
This is a typical colony from the early 1900s, with a trail passing 13 points: a lookout point; a cemetery used by the colony since its beginnings; the Sejera Farm (Hashomer Farm), which is used today as an educational base for the Israel Defense Forces (visit to the farm by appointment only); the colony’s well and beside it an archaeological tell with remains from a synagogue from the mishnaic period; the Olive Press Cave, the remains of an ancient olive press with a group of ancient graves; the Menorah Cave; the old school; the mikveh (a ritual bath that functioned in the cave); the pool that was built in the 1940s; the guardpost; the farmyard where David Ben-Gurion worked as a laborer; a farmer’s house; and the educational center, which includes an exhibit and an audiovisual presentation.

Address: David Ben-Gurion Educational Center, Ilaniya
Tel. (04) 676-7580

Kfar Giladi - Beit Hashomer and the Arms Cache
This museum presents the history of the Bar-Giora and Hashomer organizations and their role in settlement, weapon procurement, and defense of the Jewish population. It focuses on two subjects: the development of the defense force in the Land of Israel and settlement in the Galilee. The exhibit illustrates the life of the shomer (Jewish guardsman) and life in that period, with the aid of documents, photographs, an audiovisual diorama of the battle of Tel-Hai, an assortment of weapons and flags, and the full regalia of a member of Hashomer. A separate wing features a collection of sculptures created by Batya Lishansky. The museum contains an archive of the Hashomer organization and a reading room, and hosts hands-on activities for the study of the heritage of Hashomer and the Second Aliyah. There are also screenings of an audiovisual presentation.
By advance appointment, it is possible to visit the following sites as well: the arms cache of Kfar Giladi; the founders’ courtyard in Kfar Giladi; the graves of members of Hashomer; and the sculpture of the roaring lion in Kfar Giladi. There is a beautiful view of the Galilee Panhandle, Mt. Hermon, the Golan, and the Tel Hai Courtyard.

Address: Kibbutz Kfar Giladi
Tel. (04) 694-1565

Kfar Tavor Museum
This large visitors’ center at the foot of Mt. Tabor is situated in the center of the old colony of Kfar Tavor. It features an exhibition of dozens of items, unique documents, and pictures from the life of the community that realized a dream in building the homeland. Adjacent to the museum are authentic farmyards, a typical farmhouse, with its furniture and kitchenware, and reconstructions of a laundry corner and bathroom. Another house is used to host writers.
One of the farm buildings houses an exhibition of artisans (smith, carpenter, and the like) at their work, as well as models and work tools accompanied by illustrations. In another building, visitors can see videos about Kfar Tavor as well as an exhibition of photographs depicting the process of reconstructing the site.
ERETZ readers who bring this booklet to the site will receive a 10% discount on the admission fee.

Address: Kfar Tavor. Access from the northern entrance to the colony. Tel. (04) 676-5844

Khirbet Yarda
Khirbet Yarda is situated in the Hula Valley, on the way from Rosh Pina to the Benot Ya’acov Bridge, overlooking the riverbed of Nahal Mahanayim. It features remains dating from Roman times to the Ottoman period.
In Israel’s War of Independence, Khirbet Yarda was the focus of fighting over the Galilee Panhandle. Israeli fighters waged bitter battles to stop the Syrian forces and prevent them from becoming entrenched at the bridgehead of Mishmar Hayarden. Eighty Israeli fighters fell in the battles. Control of the site changed hands several times until the final conquest by Israeli forces.
At the initiative of the veteran fighters and with the assistance of several public bodies, the Council for Restoration and Preservation of Historic Sites in Israel restored Khirbet Yarda in the late 1990s. Now visitors can see an Arab estate from the nineteenth century and the covered cistern in its courtyard, as well as trenches from the period of Israel’s War of Independence. A monument to the fallen stands at the site.
Khirbet Yarda is always open.

Kinneret Courtyard and Its Environs
This site presents the courtyard in which the Jewish settlers of the Second Aliyah (the wave of immigration to the Land of Israel from 1904 to 1914) trained to work the land. The surrounding wall and some of the buildings that stood in the courtyard still remain. It was here that the people of Kinneret conceived the idea of the first kibbutz in the Land of Israel. Many of the early settlers are buried in the beautiful cemetery at the foot of the courtyard, as well as the poets Rachel and Naomi Shemer.
Visitors can also view the Founders’ Street and the museum and archives, which feature photographs, documents, and implements from the beginning of settlement in Kinneret and other historic sites.

Address: The colony of Kinneret Tel. (04) 675-1170

Maayan Harod - Beit Hankin
Beit Hankin is situated within the Maayan Harod National Park. The house is designed in the spirit of the 1930s, when it was built.
Upon entering the house, the visitor passes through the kitchen, where two mannequins are displayed: one representing Yehoshua Hankin, the redeemer of the lands of the Jezreel Valley, and the other mannequin representing his wife, Olga. The visitor then enters the living room, where there is a map of the acquisition of property in the Land of Israel. The room also contains a desk, boxes of belongings, a clothes closet, and surveying instruments.
A film about the life and work of Yehoshua Hankin in the Land of Israel is shown, and the roof affords a breathtaking view of the expanses of the Jezreel Valley.

Address: Maayan Harod National Park Tel. (04) 653-2211

Merchavia - The Great Courtyard
The cooperative in Merchavia was the first modern Jewish settlement in the Jezreel Valley and the form of settlement that Herzl envisioned as the way in which the Jewish people would redeem their land.
The Great Courtyard also served as the birthplace of the Hashomer organization, and it was the site from which the planes of the Bavarian 304th Squadron took off to photograph the entire Land of Israel from the air during World War I. The cooperative existed from 1910 to 1918 and then dissolved. The site was then populated with various groups, among them a group of which Golda Meir was a member. In 1929, it was resettled by today’s Kibbutz Merchavia.
In the early silo, a visitors’ center has been established, which tells about the beginning of modern Jewish settlement in the Jezreel Valley, and the evolution of the cooperative concept of Prof. Franz Oppenheimer (which called for joint ownership of means of production together with differential salaries) until the upheaval that is taking place today in the kibbutz movement, which is returning to this principle.
The center also features large models and a film.

Address: The Great Courtyard, Kibbutz Merchavia
Tel. (04) 659-8882

Metulla - Beit Ha’ikar
Beit Ha’ikar, the last of the founders’ houses in Metulla, has been preserved in its original form exactly as it was built in 1896. The house was reopened in 1987 after renovation and it is meant to illustrate the pioneering spirit of the founders, their lives, and the hopes that they cherished in spite of the many hardships.
Visitors can see furniture and belongings used by the first settlers – household articles, kitchen utensils, farm implements, and work tools – as well as their photographs. There are also photographs, documents, and maps that give visitors an idea of security, agriculture, education, and other matters at the time.
A special corner is devoted to the memory of the fallen of Metulla. In the yard, authentic tools are shown.
An audiovisual presentation about the history of the site is shown (by appointment).

Address: Beit Ha’ikar, Metulla Tel. (04) 694-0237

Migdal -Ya’acov and Eyal Horwitz Museum and Founders’ House
This museum presents pictures and documents from the early days of Migdal.

Address: Migdal Tel. (04) 672-1539.
For groups: (04) 672-0467, 054-727-2467.

Mizra Haketana
Mizra Hakatana presents the history of Kibbutz Mizra through photographs, documents, and more.

Address: Kibbutz Mizra Tel. (04) 642-9804

 Nahalal - The Sliq (Arms Cache)
Four stories of the Avidov family in Nahalal are interwoven in the history of the settlement and security of the State of Israel: the construction and operation of a central weapons cache of the Haganah in the courtyard of the family farm; the killing of Eitan Avidov by other Jews when he was on a mission for the Haganah to help Jews leave Europe; the smuggling of 75,000 date-palm trees from Iraq to the Land of Israel by Yani Avidav; the work of Yani, an emissary of the Mossad for Aliya Bet, in the framework of the clandestine immigration of Jews from Syria, Iraq, Iran, Turkey, Greece, and North Africa.
These stories are documented in a unique family museum that is located above the old weapons cache on the family farm.

Address: Property 27, Nahalal Tel. (04) 641-5660

Nahalal - Police Station
This visitors’ center operates in a police station from the British Mandate period. A film is shown on the history of the notarim (the supernumerary constable force) and policing in the Land of Israel.

Address: Ramat Yishai Tel. (04) 641-5073

Nahariya - Lieberman House
The building that houses this computerised museum and archive was constructed in the second half of the nineteenth century by a family from Lebanon. In 1934, the house and the surrounding area were purchased by Philip Lieberman and the site was used as a farm, which operated in the 1930s and ‘40s.
The house was donated to the Municipality of Nahariya by Rachel Lieberman-Yevnin, Philip’s granddaughter. In 1999, it was rehabilitated by the Council for Restoration and Preservation of Historic Sites in Israel and the Municipality of Nahariya, and it now serves as the Municipal Museum.
An interactive exhibit depicts the history of the house. Temporary exhibitions are presented at the site.

Address: 21 Hagedud, Nahariya Tel. (04) 982-1516

Gesher - Naharayim Experience
In April 1948, Gesher was the first settlement that had to face the attack of a regular army – the Jordanian Arab Legion. In May 1948, with Israel’s declaration of independence, the settlement was in the eye of the Iraqi invasion. Following the siege, Gesher was totally destroyed, but its members held out until the withdrawal of the enemy. Upon the conclusion of the war, the settlement moved to a new site.
Today, a museum operates in the historic site. It illustrates life at Gesher in its early days through the old buildings, exhibits, and an audiovisual presentation. The site also includes the recently inaugurated Gaon Hayarden Promenade, whose circular route overlooks the Jordan River and the Naharayim power station. In the heart of the promenade is the Bridges Lookout, with a view of the three historic bridges that used to cross the Jordan.
Also at the Gesher site: a model illustrating the method of operation of the Naharayim power station, the remains of a caravansary from the Mameluke period, and a British police fortress. One of the locomotives that was used in the construction of Naharayim was completely renovated and repainted, and can be operated for a short trip around the site.

Address: Kibbutz Gesher. Access from Road No. 90, opposite the entrance to the kibbutz. Tel. (04) 675-2685, (04) 675-3336

 Rosh Pina - Rosh Pina Academy, Yad Yigal Allon
This site shows the components of an agricultural colony from the end of the nineteenth century, its stone-paved streets, and its original houses.
The tour includes an audiovisual presentation on the history of the colony, nature, landscape, and spiritual roots of the renewers of settlement. It also includes entry to buildings, among them the old synagogue, and to the colony’s cemetery. Visitors can continue to the springs in the riverbed of Nahal Rosh Pina, in which there is a water system from the time of Baron Edmond de Rothschild, the colony’s benefactor, and the remains of ancient agriculture.
In the home of Prof. Gideon Mer, an expert on malaria and epidemiologist, there is a room dedicated to his memory and an exhibit of ancient items from various periods, such as old plows, laboratory equipment, and textbooks. The library houses the Rosh Pina archive (for perusal only).

Address: Upper Street, Rosh Pina Tel. (04) 693-6913

Safed - Beit Hameiri
Beit Hameiri is situated in an ancient stone house, with labyrinths and hidden passageways. The museum depicts Safed’s history since the beginning of the nineteenth century. It is the fruit of the work of Yehezkel Hameiri (1934-89), a journalist, author, and scholar.
The museum, housed in nine rooms and halls, features an encounter with the “elders of Safed” – their way of life, their means of livelihood, and mainly their stories.

Address: Old City, Mekubbalim Quarter (above the Ari Mikveh), Safed. Tel. (04) 697-1307, (04) 692-1939

Safed - Memorial Museum of
Hungarian-Speaking Jewry
The purpose of this museum, founded in 1986 and opened to the public in 1990, is to hand down the heritage of Hungarian-speaking Jewish communities – the Jews of Hungary, Transylvania, Slovakia, Carpathian Russia, Bachka, Banat, and Burgenland – to the succeeding generations. It presents the various aspects of community life with their characteristic customs and traditions. In addition, it preserves documents and testimonies and acts as a center for gathering and disseminating information for the benefit of researchers and the general public.
The permanent exhibit includes ritual articles, clothing, utensils, tools, documents, photographs, books, and newspapers, all of which illustrate the community’s material and spiritual life. Prominent personalities from all walks of life are presented; Zionist movements, which had a major influence on community life – and later, on the establishment of the State of Israel – receive special attention. One of the rooms in the museum is devoted to the Holocaust, the rescue efforts of the Jewish underground, and the forced labor camps of World War II.
Also featured are an audiovisual presentation on the history of Hungarian-speaking Jewry, a collection of videotapes from Israel and abroad, audio recordings of personal stories and music, and 600 slides of the synagogues of Hungary.

Address: Kikar Ha’atzmaut, Safed Tel. (04) 692-3880, 692-5881

Shibli -  Beduin Heritage Center
In the nineteenth century (1832-40), Ibrahim Pasha, ruler of Egypt, conquered Palestine and Syria. In the course of the conquest, many Beduin settled in the Galilee. They made their way there from Houran, the Golan Heights, the Syrian desert, eastern Transjordan, Egypt, and North Africa.
This population has undergone a process of transition from the nomadic life to permanent settlement. These changes influence tradition, culture, and social and family structure among the Beduin.
These elements are all manifested in the Beduin Heritage Center. Visitors are hosted in a Beduin tent and have a guided tour in the courtyard, where the daily life of the Beduin is shown. They can also try their hand at baking pita bread, and don traditional attire.

Address: Shibli, at the base of Mt. Tabor Tel. (04) 676-5585

Tel Hai Courtyard
The Tel Hai Courtyard preserves an entire settlement from the beginning of modern Jewish pioneering efforts, reconstructs life at the site, and chronicles the battle of Tel Hai.
Visitors can see Josef Trumpeldor’s room; the dining room, with an exhibit of work tools of the time; a room dedicated to the memory of the fallen, and the courtyard itself.
Today, renovation and expansion work is in progress at the site, and when they are completed the famous courtyard will once again look as it did 85 years ago. A variety of sophisticated visual aids will be combined with the authentic remains, so that a visit will become a journey to the early 1900s. The first stage of the work is expected to be completed in March 2006.

Address: Tel Hai Courtyard Tel. (04) 695-1333

Tiberias - Scottish Hotel
The Scottish Hotel is perhaps the best example of the renovation of a historic building and its conversion to a luxurious, unique hotel. The hotel is situated in the compound of St. Andrew’s Galilee, which covers nearly 3 acres and overlooks the most picturesque area of Tiberias, near the city’s fortress.
The site was established in 1894 as a hospital that served the residents of Tiberias and its environs. It has 69 rooms, 19 of them situated in the original buildings that served as the doctor’s house and the minister’s house. The hospital structure itself has become a dining room. There is also a new wing.

Address: 1 Gedud Barak Road, Tiberias
Tel. (04) 671-0710, Fax: (04) 671-0711

Yesud Hama’ala - Dubrovin Farm
This was the home of the Dubrovin family, and the farm dates back to the early 1900s. The farmyard and the house contain an exhibit of furniture, as well as eating and kitchen utensils; pictures and books of the family; and an authentic smithery, which was brought to this site in its entirety from the yard of the blacksmith of the colony.
The yard also features a demonstration of the production of pottery (the pottery can be purchased). The site hosts temporary exhibitions, and an audiovisual presentation tells the story of the settlers. In addition, there is a petting zoo and a restaurant.

Address: Yesud Hama’ala Tel. (04) 693-7371

Yifat - The Pioneer Settlement Museum
This museum tells the story of the pioneers in the Jezreel Valley, who settled in this area from 1911 to 1948. It deals with the connection between the values of the pioneers and the values and objectives of the society in Israel, today and tomorrow.
The material and spiritual culture of the pioneers on the kibbutz and the moshav is presented in an exhibition whose themes include immigration to the Land of Israel, the pioneers, the draining of the swamps and development of the land, working the field and development of agricultural technology, development of the honey industry in Israel, the moshav, the kibbutz, and the pumping of water.
New: A railway car from the British Mandate period.

Address: Kibbutz Yifat Tel. (04) 654-8974



Click on name for details
Beit Keshet – Security Building
Deganya Alef – Beit Gordon Deganya –  Founders’ Courtyard Ein Gev – House of Anchors

Ein Harod – Beit Sturman
Ein Harod – Museum of Art
Gan Hashlosha –  Stockade Site
Ginosar – Yigal Allon Center
Hanita – Tower
Hukok Fortress
Ilaniya – Ben-Gurion Center 
Kfar Giladi – Beit Hashomer
Kfar Tavor Museum

Khirbet Yarda
Kinneret Courtyard and Environs Maayan Harod – Beit Hankin Merchavia – The Great Courtyard Metulla –  Founders’ House Mizra Heketana
Nahalal – The Sliq (Arms Cache)

Nahalal - Police Station
 Nahariya – Leiberman House
Old Gesher – Nahariya Experience Rosh Pina – Academy, Yad Allon

Safed – Beit Hameiri
Safed - Hungarian Jewry Museum
Shibli – Beduin Heritage Center Tel Hai - Courtyard
Tiberias – Scottish Hotel
Yesud Hama’ala – Dubrovin Farm Yifat – Pioneer Settlement

































© ERETZ Magazine 2016